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To: All Mississippi Licensed Mortgage Brokers, Mortgage Lenders and Loan Originators

From:  Traci McCain, Director, Mortgage Division
Mississippi Department of Banking and Consumer Finance
Date: April 8, 2010

Re: Mississippi Loan Originator Education and Testing Requirements under the Mississippi
S.AF.E. Mortgage Act for 2010

Please review the below very carefully as it outlines the Education and Testing Requirements for
Mississippi Licensed Loan Originators (MLO) for 2010. Please note that questions pertaining to the NMLS
online Resource Center or questions about education providers and / or courses should be directed to the
NMLS Call Center at 240-386-4444. The Mississippi Department of Banking and Consumer Finance
has no input as to course approvals or course time offerings. Please direct all questions concerning
this to the NMLS Call Center at 240-386-4444.

In addition, questions concerning the education requirements and testing requirements, including
pre-certification questions, should be directed the Mississippi Department of Banking and
Consumer Finance via email at mortgage@dbcf.ms.gov. For Certification hour questions, they must
be submitted in writing via email at mortgage@dbcf.ms.gov or to the address listed above. Due to the
time involved in researching certification hours, these questions cannot be answered via a phone call - the
question must be submitted in writing to the email address stated or to the address above.

EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

Mortgage loan originators required to be licensed in Mississippi must complete twenty (20) hours of pre-
licensure SAFE Education, including four (4) hours specific to Mississippi law, by the following deadlines
to avoid interruption in licensure:

e For individuals who were licensed as a Mississippi loan originator on July 30,
2009, the deadline to complete pre-licensure SAFE Education is December 31,
2010. Please review the “Education Certification Process” below as this may
pertain to licensees licensed as of July 30, 2009.

e For individuals who obtained or will obtain a Mississippi loan originator license
between July 31, 2009, and July 31, 2010, the deadline to complete pre-licensure
SAFE education is July 31, 2010.
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Education Certification Process (specific steps to accomplish will follow in a later memo)

Loan originators that had an “Approved” Mississippi mortgage loan originator license on July 30, 2009
may be eligible to take part in an education certification process that allows them to utilize their past
Mississippi-approved continuing education hours towards their 20-hour pre-license education credit
requirement ONLY if the individual completed 20 hours of Mississippi approved education (including at
least 4 hours of Mississippi specific) since 2000. Eligible hours must be for courses that were approved
and obtained from providers that were approved in Mississippi at the time the course was taken, between
July 1, 2000 and December 31, 2009.

If a loan originator licensee does not meet the previous education requirement but was licensed as of July
30, 2009, the individual will have to take the full twenty (20) hours of NMLS-approved pre-license SAFE
education, including 4 hours of Mississippi specific, by December 31, 2010. The December 31, 2010 date
is ONLY for Loan Originator licensees who held a mortgage loan originator license as of July 30, 2009.

Itis STRONGLY RECOMMENDED that mortgage loan originator licensees immediately review their
continuing education records. Loan originators should check with the various states they are licensed
in to determine whether they have met state-specific education requirements. A loan originator licensee
will be certified by only one state for the SAFE Act twenty (20) hour pre-license education requirement.
Continuing education credit hours accrued in multiple states cannot be combined to meet the
twenty (20) hours.

Loan Originator licensees that are certified for the core twenty (20) hour SAFE Act education requirement
by a state other than Mississippi, without inclusion of the required four (4) credit hours of Mississippi law,
will be required to take four (4) credit hours of pre-SAFE Mississippi law prior to December 31, 2010.

Mississippi mortgage loan originator licensees that successfully participate in the pre-education

certification process, and complete the Testing Requirement as outlined below, will NOT be required to
obtain the twelve (12) hours of annual continuing education credits to renew for the 2011 licensing year.

Loan Originator Licensees that cannot participate in the Certification Process

Mississippi mortgage loan originator licensees not eligible for the certification process should note the
education requirement dates set forth below:

e Existing licensees who obtained their Mississippi loan originator license between
July 31, 2009 and December 31, 2009 must complete 20 hours of NMLS-
approved pre-license education, including four (4) hours of Mississippi specific,
by July 31, 2010. If the loan originator has completed these pre-SAFE
education requirements in calendar year 2009, then the loan originator must
satisfy the twelve (12) hours of required continuing education in calendar year
2010 in order to renew for 2011 licensing year. If the loan originator
completes the 20 hours of NMLS-approved pre-license education, including
four (4) hours of Mississippi specific, in calendar year 2010, then no
continuing education hours will be required in 2010 in order to renew for
2011 licensing year.




* Those who obtained, or will obtain, their Mississippi loan originator license on or
after January 1, 2010, must complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved pre-license
education, including four (4) hours of Mississippi specific before being licensed
by the Department. If the loan originator completed the 20 hours of NMLS pre-
SAFE education requirements in another state, then the applicant will be required
to complete the Mississippi pre-SAFE four (4) hours of education prior to being
licensed. If the loan originator has completed these pre-SAFE education
requirements in calendar year 2009, then the loan originator must satisfy the
twelve (12) hours of required continuing education in calendar year 2010 in order
to renew for 2011 licensing year. If the loan originator completes the 20
hours of NMLS-approved pre-license education, including four (4) hours of
Mississippi specific, in calendar year 2010, then no continuing education
hours will be required in 2010 in order to renew for 2011 licensing year.

For more information on SAFE Act education requirements please visit the NMLS website at:
hitp://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/profreq/Pages/default.aspx.

If you have any questions concerning the number of continuing education hours recorded with the
Department, please contact the Licensing Section of the Mississippi Department of Banking and
Consumer Finance by email ONLY: mortgage@dbcf.ms.gov or in writing at the address above.

TESTING REQUIREMENTS

Mortgage loan originators required to be licensed in Mississippi must pass the SAFE mortgage loan
originator test regardless if the loan originator participated in the pre-certification education
program or not. The test is provided in two components: (1) a national component test and, (2) a state
(Mississippi) component test. Mortgage loan originators must pass each test component with a score of at
least 75 percent.

The national component test and the state component test have been available to mortgage loan
originators since December, 2009. To schedule test dates, testing locations, or to obtain more information
from the online mortgage loan originator handbook, go to the testing page of the Nationwide Mortgage
Licensing System (NMLS) Resource Center website at the below website. Please DO NOT contact the
MS Department of Banking. If you have any questions concerning education providers, please contact the
NMLS Call Center at 240-386-4444. All providers are approved by the NMLS system, not by this
Department. hitp://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/profreg/testing/Pages/default.aspx.




It is STRONGLY RECOMMENDED that mortgage loan originator licensees immediately begin the testing
process. If a passing score is not obtained on the first attempt, the loan originator must wait thirty days
before retaking the test. If a passing score is not obtained after three retakes, the loan originator must
wait six months before retaking the test. These waiting periods are required by law. Mississippi loan
originator licensees must pass the national and state test components by the following deadlines to avoid
interruption in licensure:

e For individuals who were licensed as a Mississippi loan originator on or before
July 30, 2009, the deadline to pass the national and state test components is
December 31, 2010.

e For those who obtained, or will obtain, their Mississippi loan originator license on
or after July 31, 2009, the deadline to pass the national and state test
components is July 31, 2010 or prior to being licensed.

If you are unsure about your license date, please check your loan originator license in the bottom right
corner OR you may check the NMLS system and it will state your original license date. If you have any
questions, please contact the Mississippi Department of Banking and Consumer Finance via email at
mortgage@dbcf.ms.gov. Again, please use this email provided for quicker response time.

Questions pertaining to the NMLS online Resource Center or questions about education providers and /
or courses should be directed to the NMLS Call Center at 240-386-4444. The Mississippi Department
of Banking and Consumer Finance has no input as to course approvals or course time offerings.
Please direct all questions concerning this to the NMLS Call Center at 240-386-4444.

If you have any general questions concerning this email, please email me at traci.mccain@dbcf.ms.gov.
Please note that all email addresses with the Mississippi Department of Banking and Consumer Finance
have changed to this format. In addition, the Department's website address has changed to
www.dbcf.ms.gov.




