
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
        

REGULATORY MEMORANDUM – NEW AMENDMENTS TO THE  
MISSISSIPPI INSURANCE PREMIUM FINANCE LAW 

 
 
TO:    Insurance Premium Finance Licensees    
 
FROM:  Theresa L. Brady  
  Deputy Commissioner  
   
RE:    New Amendments to Mississippi Insurance Premium Finance Law  

EFFECTIVE IMMEDIATELY  
 
DATE: June 1, 2004 
_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 This Memorandum is to inform the Regulatory Contact for the Licensee of recent amendments made to 
Section 81-21-1 et seq., Mississippi Code of 1972, Annotated, the Mississippi “Insurance Premium Finance Law”.  
The amended bill (House Bill #786) was signed into law by Governor Barbour on April 28, 2004 and became 
effective immediately.  The following is a BRIEF SYNOPSIS of the amendments.  For a complete copy of the 
law, please refer to the Department’s website www.dbcf.state.ms.us or to the Legislative website to download a 
copy of House Bill #786:  http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/2004/pdf/mainmenu.htm.  In the newly amended law, 
where words are underlined, it means that this is new language to the law.  Where there is a ***, it means that 
language has been deleted from the law.   
 

1) Section 81-21-3 was amended to increase examination fees to a range between $300.00 and 
$600.00 for each office examined on a two (2) year cycle.   

 
2) Section 81-21-9 was amended to authorize the Commissioner to issue a Cease & Desist Order to 

those violating the Insurance Premium Finance Laws.  
 

3) Section 81-21-13 was amended to require “non-refundable charges” to be disclosed on the 
Premium Finance agreement. 

 
4) Section 81-21-15 was amended to authorize refunds of unearned finance change, based on the Rule 

of 78’s, upon voluntary prepayment of the obligation in full or upon cancellation of contract. 


