Part 3 Chapter 3: Mississippi Check Cashers Act

Rule 3.1 Purpose. Theseregulations are promulgated pursuant to Sectio®7/501 et seq.,

Miss. CodeAnn.,, kmown as the “Mississippi afhinestaive Cas he
regulations required by the Department of Banking and Consumer Finance. Sec@@n 75
515(1) Miss. Code Ann.,authorizes the Department to adopt reasonable administrative
regulations not inconsistent with the law, in order to enforce the Mississippi Check Cashers Act.
Theseregulations are not intended to create any private right, remedy, or cause of action in favor
of any customer or against any licensee nor are thegpdations itended to apply to any
business transactions of a licensee not covered by Mississippi Law. Whiledbaksions are
intended to and do supersede all pregulations issued by the Department of Banking and
Consumer Finance regarding the check casmdgstry, theseegulations are intended only to
clarify the existing law. In order to ensure compliance with the provisions set forth in the
Mississippi Check Cashers Act, the following regulations have been implemented.

Source:Miss. Code Ann. 87567-501; Miss. Code Ann. 875-67-515(1); Effective date February
20, 2003

Rule 3.2 Records. “ Recor ds” or “documents” means any it
format of storage commonly described as electronic, imaged, magmétiophotographic or

otherwise, and any reproduction so made shall have the same force and effect as the original
thereof and be admitted in evidence equally with the original. Records may be in the form of
traditional hard copies, computer printouts or magnetic media iflyeaciiessible for viewing

on a screen with the capability of being promptly printed upon request.

Source:Miss. Code Ann. 87567-501; Miss. Code Ann. 87567-515(1); Effective date February
20, 2003

Rule 3.3 Delayed Deposit Transaction

1. Records

a. Licensee Ball maintain all filesand records at its licensed office.

b. Licensee shall maintain a separate fileler for each customer containing
documentation for all delayed deposit transactions.

c. Licensee shall maintain a daily journal containing a record afeddlyeddeposit
transactions in consecutively numbered ordére daily journalshall include at
least the customer name and transaction date and may be maintained either
manually or by computer. In lieu of maintaining a dgdwrnal, Licensee may
maintan a file with a copy of eacldelayed deposiagreementn consecutively
numbered ordefThis number shall be printed dhe agreement.Licensee must
be able to account for any voided agreements or lapse in numbering sequence.

d. The check number must be dlgadisclosed on eactelayed deposdagreement.

e. The date of the transaction and the maturity date must be stated othetaad
depositagreement.

f. A new check must be used for eatdlayed deposagreement. (i.e. the same
checkshallnot be reused on subsequent check cashing transactions).



2. Processing Fee

The Processing de authorized by 87%7-519(7), Miss. Code Ann.shall be disclosed in the
delayed deposit agreement. Thirty Dollars ($30.00) is set as the maximum amount & license
may charge for a check returned for any reason, including, without limitation, insufficient funds,
closed account or stop paymenhe Processingee is considered a otine charge; regardless

of the number of times the check associated with dblkayeddepositagreement has been
processed.

3. Processing Fegournal

Licensee must maintaindaily journal of all Processingeles charged along with the following
information:

Copy of check

Amount of Processingde

Customer name

Date of transaction

Checknumber

Amount of check

g Document ation verifying the financi al i ns
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4. Computation of Annual Percentage Rate

Pursuant to Section #%/7-519(3) Miss. Code Ann.the fee charged in a delayed deposit
transaction must beistlosed as a dollar amount and as an annual percentage rate (APR) in the
delayed deposagreement.

Example:
$100.00delayed deposit transaction due in 14 days, whei?8.80check is held:

$20.00/$100.00 X 365/14 = 521.43 APR
Fee + amount financed365 (or 360) + number of days = APR

5. Rollover Fee

Licensee shall not accept a fee to renew or exteadrollover)any delayed depositansaction.
Thedelayed deposagreemenshallnot be renewedhe transaction must m®llectedin full.

6. Checks Written on Joint Bank Accounts
Each individual on a joint bank account may write checks in an amount not to exceed an

aggregate total ofive Hundred Dollars ($00.0Q perindividual. However, a separate delayed
deposit agreement must accompanyheateck.



7. Multiple Checks

Licensee may accept multiple checks on a customer with the aggregate amount not to exceed
Five Hundred Dollars ($00.00. However, a separate delayed deposit agreement must
accompany each check.

8. Payment Plan

Licensee may set up a payment plan for customers in ddfaultustomer defaults and Licensee
agrees to accept a payment plan and customer later defaults in the payment plan, the Licensee
may cash the check but may not receive more than the originalndrabthe beck, plus the
Processing €e set forth irtheseregulations. Licenseeshall maintain supporting evidence of all
payments received.

9. WageAssignments

Licensee shall not encumbarcustomer svages in the form of a wage assignmétwever,
nothing contained herein shall prevent a licensee from garnishing wages pursuant to a court
order.

10. Acceptance of Credit Cards as Payment

Licensee may accept a credit card as payment on the due date. The Lsteises swipe the
cust oomeedist card at the beginning of a transa
and later completing the transaction on the due date.

Source:Miss. Code Ann. 87567-501; Miss. Code Ann. 87567-515(1); Miss. Code Ann. 75-67-
519(3);Effective date February 20, 2003

Rule 3.4 Checks Cashed for a Fee and Required Records. Licensee shalinaintaina copy of each
check cashed along with the following information:

Date of transaction

Fee charged expressed as a percentagesrdé,/-517 Miss. Code Ann.
Feecharged expressed as a dollar amount

Customer signature acknowledging fees charged
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Source:Miss. Code Ann. 87567-501; Miss. Code Ann. 87567-515(1); Miss. Code Ann. 875-67-
517; Effective date February 20, 2003

Rule 3.5 Disclosure of Fees and Rates. Pursiant to875-67-515(4) Miss. Code Ann.a Licensee
shalldisplay a sign disclosintpe maximum fees allowed to be charged for cashing chédis

sign must be at | east 20”"x 20" and the print
easily readhe information. Such sign must be displayed in a conspicuous place and in easy view
of all persons who enter the place of business. The following is an example of the required sign:



The following is a list of maximum fees allowable for services that beagffered at this check
cashing business:
1. Government check8% of the face amount of the check or five dollars ($5.00), whicheyer is
greater
2. Personal checkd 0% of the face amount of the check or five dollars ($5.00), whichever is
greater
3. All other checks or money order§% of the face amount of the check or five dollars ($5.00),
whichever is greater
4. Delayed depostransaction $20.00 per $100.00 advanced for checks $250.00 and unde

$21.95 per $100.00 advanced for chemksr $250.00

-

Amount Advancd Fee Face Amount of Check
$100.00 $20.00 $120.00
$200.00 $40.00 $240.00
$300.00 $65.85 $365.85
$400.00 $87.80 $487.80

Mississippi law prohibits thisheck cashing businessom accepting a fee to renew extend
any delayed depositansaction. Therefore, a delayed deposit check must be deposited or the
check face value paid in fyrior to entering into asther delayed deposit transaction.

This checkcashing business licensed andegulated bytie Mississippi Department of Banking
and Consumer Finance. If you have any unresolved problem with a transaction at this Ipcation,
you are entitled to assistance. Please call or write: Mississippi Department of Banking and
Consumer Finance, P.O. Drawer 297 Jackson, MS 39225%729; Phone -B00-844-2499.

Any of the above information that is not currently posted may be posted on a separate sign
using the dimensions described abolieensee is only required to post fees for the type of
services offered.

Source:Miss. Code Ann. 87567-501; Miss. Code Ann. 87567-515(1);Miss. Code Ann. 875-67-
515(4);Effective date December 1, 2012

Rule 3.6 Advertisement. 875-67-505(1),Miss. Code Annst ates i n part that *
engage in the business as a check casher or otherwise portray himself as a check casher unless
the person has a valid |Iicense authorizing en
of external signage outl® a business, advertisement via print, broadcast or electronic media
announcing or referencing a check cashing se
himself as acheck casher and not incidental to any other service offered and therefore, must
obtain a license to participate in a check cashing business.

Persons that are principally engaged in the retail sale of goods and és@mptensingunder
§7567-507(c) Miss. Code Ann. are prohibited from advertisitigey offer check cashing
services.



Source:Miss. Code Ann. 875-67-501; Miss. Code Ann. 87567-515(1);Miss. Code Ann. 875-67-
507;Miss. Code Ann. 875-67-505(1);Effective date February 20, 2003

Rule 3.7 Violations. The mmmissioner shall enforce thessgulations. Any violation of and/or

failure to comply with theseegulations may result in the assessment afia money penalty

not to exceed Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00)
license, or both, in accordeswith Mississippi law.

Source:Miss. Code Ann. 87567-501;, Miss. Code Ann. 87567-515(1); Effective date February
20, 2003



