
 
  
 
 
   
 
 
    
             

MEMORANDUM 
   
TO:  All Licensed Check Cashers 
 
FROM: John S. Allison 
  Commissioner 
 
DATE: November 22, 2004  
 
RE:  Mississippi Check Cashers Act   
 
This office has received various inquiries regarding certain provisions of the Mississippi Check 
Cashers Act; hence this memorandum shall provide you with the Department’s interpretation of 
these matters. 
 
1) Section 75-67-519 (7) states in part that, “if a licensee takes legal action against a 
customer to collect the amount of a delayed deposit check for which the licensee has not 
obtained payment and obtains a judgment against the customer for the amount of that check the 
licensee shall also be entitled to any court-awarded fees.”  It is the opinion of this office that 
court-awarded fees only include reasonable attorney fees and court costs.  Therefore, in your 
court filings you are only authorized to request the face amount of the check, the $30.00 
processing fee authorized under Section 75-67-519 (7), if previously disclosed in the written 
agreement, reasonable attorney fees and court costs. 
 
2) As you may be aware, the authorized service charge for an insufficient check under the 
Bad Check Law was increased to $40.00 during the 2004 Legislative Session, however, you are 
not allowed to use this statute for returned checks under the Mississippi Check Cashers Act.  
Please be advised that you are authorized to charge only a $30.00 processing fee under Section 
75-67-519 (7), if previously disclosed in the written agreement.   
 
3) Section 3 of the Check Casher Regulations set forth the requirements for record keeping 
on a delayed deposit transaction.  Please be aware that you must maintain a copy of the check on 
each delayed deposit transaction.    
 
This memorandum is effective immediately.  Please be advised that any violations noted 
during an examination regarding the above-referenced matters could result in the assessment of a 
civil money penalty, customer refunds or both.  If you should have any questions, feel free to call 
me or my deputy, Theresa Brady, at (601) 359-1031. 


