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• The Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act (“SAFE Act”) is a federal act that was 
signed into law on July 30, 2008, which requires all states to have a licensing system in place for 
mortgage loan originators by July 31, 2009.  State laws must meet the minimum standards for loan 
originators as set forth in the SAFE Act.   

  
• The Mississippi Mortgage Consumer Protection Law was amended during the 2009 Legislative Session 

(SB 2983) to comply with the federal SAFE Act.  These amendments will be effective on 7/31/09.  The 
title of the law was also changed to the Mississippi S.A.F.E. Mortgage Licensing Act of 2009 (MS SAFE 
Act).  

 
• The Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry (NMLSR) is a licensing system developed by 

CSBS and AARMR for the mortgage industry.  This system is designed to help regulate and improve 
supervision of the industry by streamlining the licensing process.  Mortgage companies and loan 
originators must be licensed through the NMLSR; however, the Department of Banking and Consumer 
Finance will have regulatory authority over mortgage companies and loan originators.  

 
• Mississippi small loan lenders have been exempt from licensing under the current Mississippi Mortgage 

Consumer Protection Law.  However, with the passage of the federal SAFE Act, small loan lenders are 
no longer exempt.  Pursuant to a recent opinion issued by the Mississippi Attorney General, small 
loan lenders must obtain a mortgage license under the MS SAFE Act by July 31, 2010.   

 
• The MS SAFE Act requires licensees to use the Uniform Residential Loan Application (Form 1003).     

 
• DBCF recommends that small loan lenders start the licensing process beginning January 2010.  A 

reminder notice regarding licensing will be sent to you later this year. 
 

• For more information, please visit our website at www.dbcf.state.ms.us or contact Taft Webb, Consumer 
Division Director, at twebb@dbcf.state.ms.us  

 



 
MORTGAGE LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 

 
 

 Mortgage Lender License  (principal place of business)     
 $750.00 License Fee  
 $100.00 NMLSR Processing Fee 
 $150,000.00 Surety Bond 
 Fingerprints – required for principal officers/qualifying individuals and any owner of     
  10% or more; fingerprint cards must be sent to DBCF 
 Principal Officer must have at least two (2) years experience AND be licensed as a loan    
  originator  
 $475.00 Renewal Fee  
 $100.00 Annual NMLSR Processing Fee 
 
 
 Mortgage Branch license   (branch locations) 
 $100.00 License Fee 
 $  20.00 NMLSR Fee 
 Each branch must have a least one (1) licensed loan originator  
 $25.00 Renewal Fee  
 $20.00 Annual NMLSR Processing Fee 
 
 
 Loan Originator License  
 $100.00 License Fee  
 $  30.00 NMLSR Fee  
 Fingerprint cards must be sent to DBCF 
 Pre-testing requirement – available by 1/1/10 
 Pre-education requirement (20 hours) 
 $50.00 renewal fee along with 12 hours of approved continuing education   
 $30.00 Annual NMLS Processing Fee    
 
 
  
 

 License applications must be submitted through the NMLSR.  
 Education providers must be approved by NMLSR.  

 
 


