
WHAT IS THE RULE OF 78s 
 
 
 

It's difficult to understand; yet nearly all financial institutions use it. In Mississippi and other 

states, it is a method of figuring your cost and refund of credit insurance and/or finance charges 

on a precomputed credit transaction. A "precomputed" account is one which the account balance 

includes the finance charge and each month the full payment is subtracted from the balance. If 

the account pays off before maturity, a rebate of the unearned finance charge is given based on 

a method called "the Rule of 78s." 

 

The Rule of 78s is commonly, even widely, used but is understood by very few people. It is a method 

of refunding finance charges and/or credit insurance premiums on consumer credit precomputed 

transactions when the borrower prepays the account in full. More interest and insurance premiums 

are earned in the early stages of a contract since the amount owing is greater. As the balance 

decreases, the earned charges are proportionately less for each unit period. 

 

The Rule of 78s is also known as the sum of the digits. In fact, the 78 is a sum of the digits of the 

months in a year: 1 plus 2 plus 3 plus 4, etc., to 12, equals 78. Under the rule, each month in the 

contract is assigned a value which is exactly the reverse of its occurrence in the contract. Hence, 

the 1st month of a 12 month contract gets the value of 12, the second month 11, etc., until the 12th 

month gets a value of 1. As the months elapse, the interest is earned by the lender equal to the 

total value of the expired months. 

 

For example, prepaying after 2 months of a 12 month contract would result in the lender being able 

to keep 29.49% of the finance charges (1st month 12 plus 2nd month 11 = 23/78 or 29.49%). In 

another example, if the borrower prepays after 6 months, the lender would have earned 57/78s or 

73.08% of the finance charges. 

 

 

EXAMPLE OF RULE OF 78s: 

 

12 Month Loan - Made December 1 - First Payment on January 1 

 

# Month 
Earned 

Units 

Unearned 

Units 
% Rebate 

12 Jan 12/78 66/78 84.62% 

11 Feb 23/78 55/78 70.52% 

10 March 33/78 45/78 57.69% 

9 Apri l  42/78 36/78 46.15% 



8 May 50/78 28/78 35.90% 

7 June 57/78 21/78 26.92% 

6 July 63/78 15/78 19.23% 

5 August  68/78 10/78 12.82% 

4 September 72/78 6/78 07.69% 

3 October 75/78 3/78 03.85% 

2 November 77/78 1/78 01.28% 

1 December 78/78 0/78 00.00% 

78     

 

 

 

FINANCE CHARGE REFUND  

 

EXAMPLE: 

 

If the finance charge on a 12 month precomputed consumer credit transaction is $100.00 and the 

account is paid-in-full in the 3rd month; the total of the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd monthly earned units is 33/78 

and the total unearned units is 45/78 (78 - 33). 45/78 converted to a percent is 57.69%. The unearned 

finance charge refund would be 57.69% of the $100.00 finance charge which would be $57.69. 

 

As you can see in this example, 42.31% of the finance charge was earned in the first three months of the 12 

month contract. 

 

In Mississippi, if loans made or handled by a licensee under the provisions of the Small Loan Privilege 

Tax Law are paid in full prior to maturity, after July 1, 1974, whether by cash, renewal or otherwise, the 

licensee shall refund to the borrower the finance charge exceeding one dollar ($1.00) calculated on the 

rule of the sum of the digits, commonly known as the "Rule of 78ths." The refund shall be based and 

calculated on the number of days by which the loan is paid in advance, less twenty (20) days. Using 

the above example, if a loan was granted January 1, 2002, and paid off March 27, 2002, the finance 

charge computation is based on four (4) months unearned or 46.15% of $100.00 or an unearned finance 

charge refund of $46.15. However, using the same example, if the loan paid off March 26, 2002, the 

finance charge computation is based on three (3) months unearned or 57.69% of $100.00 or an 

unearned finance charge refund of $57.69. The difference in the two refunds is the affect of the 20 day 

rule. 

 

 

 



 

CREDIT INSURANCE PREMIUM REFUNDS 

 

Mississippi Credit insurance premium refunds are computed in the same manner as finance charge 

refunds using the Rule of 78s except that the twenty (20) day rule does not apply and one day in the 

next month constitutes another full month. In the event of the payment of a loan in full one or more 

months prior to maturity date, whether by cash, new loan, renewal, or refinancing, the insurance 

policy(ies) or certificates shall be cancelled and the borrowers shall be entitled to a refund of the 

unearned portion (in excess of $2.00) of the premium on any property insurance written through the 

Licensee, with such refund being calculated under the Rule of 78's,unless the policy or certificate calls 

for a greater refund amount. Calculations shall be based on the date of the loan to the date the loan is 

paid-off. In calculating a Rule of 78's refund, one (1) day shall constitute a full month earned. 

 

In the example of a contract dated December 1 with a credit insurance premium of $100.00 for a term of 

12 months, the $57.69 refund would apply to accounts paid-in-full from February 2 to March 1. 

 

 

E X A M P L E  O F  A  R U L E  O F  7 8 s  

 

The following formula is the simplest method of computing the refunds by the Rule of 78s.  

 

FORMULA:   (U * (U + 1)) \ (T * (T + 1)) = Rule of 78s refund decimal * F = Rebate 

 

U = Unearned term periods \ = Divided by 

T = Term periods * = Times 

F = Finance Charge  

 

Example :  

 

This example is for a 12 month contract which prepaid at 3 months (9 months unearned) with a finance 

charge of $100.00. 

 

U = 9 

T = 12 

F = $100.00 

 

 

(9* (9 + 1)) 1 (12 (12 + 1)) = (9 * 10) \ (12 * 13) = 90 \ 156 = .5769 Rule of 78s refund 

decimal, 5769 * $100.00 = $57.69 Refund 



 

Charts and other calculating devices are available to creditors for accurately computing the unearned 

charges under the Rule of 78s. 

 

 

T E R M S  O V E R  6 1  M O N T H S  

 

Since July 1, 1992, the Rule of 78s refund can not be used on contracts with a term over 61 months. 

Refunds are computed by applying the disclosed annual percentage rate to the unpaid balances of the 

amount financed for the full computational periods following the prepayment, as originally scheduled or as 

deferred. 

 

 

 

 
 

Contact the Department of Banking and Consumer Finance if you think that your refund has 

been computed incorrectly or if you have other questions regarding consumer credit. 


